So most of us would assume fruit a gluten free product. Never hurts, though, to see the packaging listed as gluten free. We found these pomegranate seeds recently at Harris Teeter. You can never go wrong with giving your children fruit. You can find a variety of products with pomegranates, including fresh seeds, juice, even some yogurts. You can find a lot of good information about pomegranates at http://www.pomwonderful.com/. They sell a variety of products including juice concentrate, supplements, and more, harnessing the antioxidants and other goodness. You can find these products in pretty much all grocery stores in Raleigh. Enjoy!
Always good to find new ‘cook and eat’ meals coming gluten free. Recently at Harris Teeter we found a variety of grilled fish from Gorton’s. We reviewed different brands of gluten free fish sticks in the past, but this is the first time we saw frozen, non-breaded fish. I always used to eat Gorton’s fish sticks (non-gluten free) in the past, so I am familiar with the brand. You can see these Salmon and Tilapia fish fillets labeled gluten free quite clearly. A nice, quick meal in the spring, maybe add some rice, before going off to soccer, dance or any other spring activities!
The family went to the Lemur IMAX movie yesterday at Marbles. Afterward, we decided to walk around the Artsplosure festival, as it is right in Moore Square, bordering Marbles (Click here for Raleigh Cel-Kids Map). Like most of you, when we attend festivals, carnivals, and fairs, we bring lots of gf snacks, as you never know what offerings your Celiacs could eat. Right near Marbles, however, we found a booth selling Crepe Burritos, and they clearly displayed a Gluten Free options sign.
We tried to find this Urban Foods group, and find out if they are the same as the Urban Food Group that runs the Chow and Vivace restaurants in Raleigh, but we actually found that it is run by SueChef out of Asheville (https://www.facebook.com/urbanfoodsbysuechef?fref=photo). From her Facebook page, we learned she moves all over to a variety of festivals.
We did not try one of these gluten free options this time, but you can stop by Artsplosure today (May 18th) and try one. If you do, let us know–we are curious to see what they are like. We are pretty excited to see options going forward for our girls, as we think we’ll see a lot of festivals on the schedule this summer!
Always interesting to think of Celiacs of certain religions and nationalities. I always wonder about things like Irish at St. Patrick’s Day, and other things, but especially Jewish Celiacs. While shopping at Wal*Mart recently, we found these gf matzo ‘style’ crackers. Pretty interesting. Of course it clearly states ‘not a replacement for matzo at the sider’ but nice to see additional options out there.
If you made it here from the article on Food Allergies in 5.13’s N&O (http://www.newsobserver.com/2014/05/12/3855710/how-to-eat-out-with-food-allergies.html?sp=/99/106/), welcome! The Raleigh Cel-Kids group definitely likes seeing more interest in Celiac and eating gluten free. Most of the participants in the group (kids, mostly) suffer Celiac, an autoimmune disease causing issues when eating gluten (a protein found in wheat, barley, rye, etc). If not Celiac, and suffering a gluten intolerance or just eating gluten free to feel better, you’ll find a lot of great content on this site to help you in and around Raleigh.
The first thing we’d like to share is the Raleigh Cel Kids Google Map (http://goo.gl/KJEOmn). This map shows many places in Raleigh you can find gluten free products. Whether restaurants, grocery stores, or other places, you’ll find lots of options to stock up. Just click on each icon, and you can find more information about a place. Check the date on each, though, and as always, these are up to your own discretion, as menus, product lines, and other things change regularly.
Another great resource is the Raleigh Cel-Kids Facebook group (https://www.facebook.com/groups/109187702444254/). You can ‘lurk’ and find some great discussions with our group, or you can join (it will take a day or so for approval to the closed group) and post your own questions. A great resource for Raleigh Celiacs.
The blog itself stays pretty fresh with 3-5 posts per week. We began in 2009, and since then, posted over 700 times on a variety of stores, restaurants, and products you can find in and around Raleigh. If you find additional things, please share them with us!
Wal*Mart always surprises us in the amount and variety of gluten free products they carry. Recently, at the Wake Forest location, we found Gluten Free Cafe hot and cold cereals. We already found gluten free soup from Gluten Free Cafe (click here) and frozen dinners (click here). Now we found Maple Buckwheat Flakes and Brown Rice Hot Cereal. Both sound like good morning choices. Also notice the prominently displayed ‘Certified Gluten Free Logo.’
So with cookout season coming, we recently found these Campfire Mallow Bursts at the Wake Forest Wal*Mart. I love how clearly Campfire labels their marshmellows as being gluten free. We usually buy Kraft marshmellows, and they do not clearly label theirs. They list all the ingredients, and we can infer no gluten was used in making them, but unlike these Campfire ones, we cannot be sure.
We found these blue raspberry flavored ones. Quite a unique flavor. Not sure how they would be in a s’more, but they would definitely bring a unique flavor! Speaking of s’mores, we faced many situations lately needing gluten free s’mores. Both my daughters participate in Y Princesses (a great program, Dads–check it out). Of course, we do many camping trips. How do we handle s’mores, as we always start a campfire? Pretty easily. We bring our own gluten free graham crackers (using these), and just cook our marshmellows, smush some Hershey’s chocolate, and eat. Pretty good!
How many of you adults remember getting popcorn from those stores in the mall (KarmelKorn, I believe was one name) or in the department stores such as Hills (maybe mostly a northern store)? We recently found something similar on a trip to Trader Joe’s. You can get their caramel corn in a small bag, with the gluten free logo clearly showing. Like the milk chocolate covered toffee popcorn we reviewed recently, this caramel corn is good for movie night, travelling, or just for a special treat.
We always find so many interesting snacks at Trader Joe’s. On a recent trip we found bags of milk chocolate covered toffee popcorn. You can see in the picture, they clearly marked it with their gluten free symbol (bottom, right corner). What a great snack for travelling, watching movies at home, or for a special treat.